Red November


The Philadelphia Phillies played at Citizens Bank Park for game 3 of the series last week. The Field was previously called Veterans Stadium until 2004 when it was torn down. Citizens Bank agreed to a $95 million deal for naming rights with the Philadelphia Phillies.

The Philadelphia Phillies lost in game 6 while battling it out with the Houston Astros for the World Series Championship. The Phillies won their last World Series title in 2008 and have been featured in the National League series several times over the years. Bryce Harper and others were leading the way for future Phillies’ players.

“The Phillies are bringing joy to the whole state of Pennsylvania. It’s been unreal to watch and experience this with such an amazing team that is so close to where we live,” said Senior Connor Demcher.

The Philadelphia Phillies were the wildcard and played the St. Louis Cardinals twice and came out victorious in both games. Then their next opponent was the Atlanta Braves in the National League Division Series. The Phillies lead 3-1 in the series against the Braves. The Phillies’ last challenge before getting into the World Series was defeating the San Diego Padres. Bryce Harper hit a two-run home run for the Phillies to beat the Padres, 4-3 in game 5 of the National League Championship series. They advanced to face the Houston Astros for the Championship.

“I have been a fan of the Phillies since I was little. Recently, I have started watching their games more with my family. I was upset to see them loose but I was happy they played hard,” said junior Faith Toothaker.

The overall record for the Philadelphia Phillies in their 2008 season was 92-70. They faced the Milwaukee Brewers in the National League Divisional Series. Next up for the Phillies was the Los Angeles Dodgers in the National League Championship series. The Philadelphia Phillies went on to win the World Series (4-1) against the Tampa Bay Rays.
The Phillies are the oldest franchise in American professional sports to run continuously, single-named, and have a single-city franchise.

Before the well-known name, The Phillies were called “The Philadelphia Quakers.” The Team officially changed its name to The Philadelphia Phillies. The organization was founded in 1883 and since then won eight National League pennants and two World Series titles. The franchise won its first World Series Championship in 1980.